Diversity Instructional Services Diversity

Savanna School District Standards

The Mission of the Savanna School District is to provide a quality educational program, building academic, physical, social and emotional growth in an environment that will be stimulating for learning in cooperation with parents and the community; develop all students to their individual capacity to prepare them for future learning experiences.

As we implement the California Common Core Standards in Math and English Language Arts, it's important to know that the cognitive rigor of what we are asking students to do is more demanding than previous standards (i.e. students will be reading more complex and varied texts). The shift toward the Common Core State Standards will infuse a systemic change in California’s educational system with a focus on ensuring students are college and career ready upon high school graduation.  Built upon not only what students need to know, but also on how they arrive at solving complex problems, the Common Core State Standards (CCSS) will help students learn unique skills they will need to be successful in a rapidly changing global economy.  CCCS is not a federal mandate imposed upon us; the standards were driven by several states’ need to agree on common standards measuring college readiness. This set of shared national standards will help to ensure that students in every state are held to the same level of expectations that students in the world’s highest-performing countries are, and that they gain the knowledge and skills that will prepare them for success in postsecondary education and in the global arena. 

In addition to new instructional strategies and a realignment of the curriculum at all grade levels, the CCSS requires a new system of assessment. The Smarter Balanced Assessment Consortium (SBAC) created new assessments for use across the country. The SBAC assessments require online testing. This is a major departure from the paper and pencil tests students have taken in the past. As a result, technology will need to be infused into the curriculum, providing students with the necessary skills to demonstrate their knowledge in an online environment. 

Use the links below to access Common Core State Standards for specific grade levels and content areas. Materials below are provided thanks to Fresno County Office of Education.

Kindergarten English Language Arts & Literacy Standards

1st Grade English Language Arts & Literacy Standards

2nd Grade English Language Arts & Literacy Standards

3rd Grade English Language Arts & Literacy Standards

4th Grade English Language Arts & Literacy Standards

5th Grade English Language Arts & Literacy Standards

6th Grade English Language Arts & Literacy Standards